Fuzzy Math by J Edward Najera

I do not like to get involved with political topics. I have friends and family on both sides of the issues. However, I have a few thoughts about what I see happening.

“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.” This observation by Jorge Agustín Nicolás Ruiz de Santayana y Borrás is often quoted and it is completely appropriate when trying to keep up with current frustrations happening in our nation’s capital and up and down the east coast.

“This is a madhouse!” Screams Charlton Heston In The Planet of the Apes.

Here’s the problem as I see it.  On NBC’s “Meet the Press” Candidate Trump stated he would deport all undocumented immigrants from the U.S. He would reverse President Obama’s executive orders on immigration.

Trump is quoted as saying: “We’re going to keep the families together, but they have to go.” The opposite is happening already, as I write these words in March of 2017. ICE agents are waiting at schools to round up parents and are tearing families apart. This is a nightmare I do not want to think about . . .

The Department of Homeland Security estimates that 11.4 million illegal immigrants were in the United States in January 2012.

One estimate of the cost to gather these immigrants and send them back would take about 20 years and cost the government between $400 billion and $600 billion. That amount just about matches the defense budget of 2015.

$598.5 billion. This sounds like “fuzzy math” to quote another president.

“I do not want to say harsh words against President Trump. I respect the office.”

I believe I said that.

 

About jedwardnajera

I am a Poet. I live the life of a poet. I am an artist, a member of Gallery 9 in Los Altos, California. I published a novel Nena the Fairy and the Iron Rose, available through Amazon Books. I spent over thirty five years in a classroom. My father kept a living record of his lifetime as he lived through the Twentieth Century. He was born in 1908 and almost lived long enough to see us enter the new millennium. He was a mechanical engineer and had a wonderful love of history and science. He entrusted to me nearly 400 pages that he wrote through the years. He wrote in Spanish and I have spent six months translating these pages into English. Now I am in the process of editing, rewriting, and revising them. I am trying to post a new entry or chapter each Friday. Check in on us at least once a week for the latest post.
This entry was posted in President Trump and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

