Blinded by the Light by Joseph E Najera

I was born on November 28, 1947. I was told much later that I ruined Thanksgiving dinner that year by popping out of the oven about the same time as the turkey. There’s my parents, about the time I came into the world.

My early years were in El Centro, CA. It is in the Imperial Valley, Southern California. The border towns of Calexico and Mexicali are a few miles away. There are miles of farm lands on both sides of the border made possible by the complex system of canals fed by the Colorado River.

I don’t have too many pictures of my mama and me. She went to the hospital shortly after this. She was in there so long that I didn’t even know her. I thought my aunt was my real mother.

In the Imperial Valley, my father, and I suppose many other people, stepped outside to enjoy the cooler evening air of a hot summer night.  I was just a toddler but I remember. He would stand or sit on the front porch. I guess I followed him around like a puppy. He would light his pipe or roll a cigarette and count the stars until he was too drowsy to stay awake.

I wondered as I looked up at him (and to) him, what was he thinking? He had lots of things to worry about. My mama was in the hospital with TB, fighting for her life. Sometimes he would come home from work and find the door wide open and nobody home, including myself.

Our family was falling apart and it must have been too much for him. Eventually he took us to our godparents. My two sisters and I went to Port Hueneme, CA to stay with my aunt and uncle.

My brother went to stay with our grandmother in Oxnard, CA. My father stayed behind and worked. He spent everything he earned on paying the hospital bills.

That year I was born, 1947, that time I was still inside my mama, brought things to the desert skies before our family fell apart.

North of the Imperial Valley, in the Mohave Desert is Edwards Air Force Base. Seven UFO sightings were witnessed by dozens of officers and pilots. This became known as Project Blue Book Case Number 50.

Sightings continued since then. Some of these sighting were caught on film. There is a report that in February 1954 President Eisenhower visited the base and met with extraterrestrials. I do not know if the story is true or not, but the story is out there.

There were 832 UFO sightings throughout the U.S. between June and July of 1947. There were over 1,500 for that entire year.

In the same July, came a report from Zacatecas, Mexico a rancher found a UFO. He entered the cockpit and found two small men wearing silvery clothes.

Near Nashville, Tennessee, a man saw a UFO land near him. Two little men came out and greeted him by sign language before taking to the sky.

Andrew Cherry from Edinburgh, Scotland waited at his usual bus stop close to St Johns School in Baileyfield Road. He saw a disc shaped object hovering above him. It glowed orange and he could hear a humming sound. It did not stay long. It was gone in seconds.

Fishermen in the Mediterranean Sea reported a sighting.

And of course, there was Roswell, New Mexico.

There was also my father. He saw the lights. Some of them streaked in silence across the sky in a matter of seconds. Others flew directly overhead and made 90° turns without coming to a stop or making a sound. He never said what they were. He only reported what he saw.

We were standing on our porch steps, I was looking at his silhouette. What must be the thoughts he was thinking?

Eventually our family was reunited. We moved to Silicon Valley and my brother and sisters grew up there and went our own ways.

Throughout his years my father would step outside and gaze at the stars before turning in. Was he thinking deep thoughts or thinking about his worries?

Or, was he waiting for the lights?

 

 

 

About jedwardnajera

I am a Poet. I live the life of a poet. I am an artist, a member of Gallery 9 in Los Altos, California. I published a novel Nena the Fairy and the Iron Rose, available through Amazon Books. I spent over thirty five years in a classroom. My father kept a living record of his lifetime as he lived through the Twentieth Century. He was born in 1908 and almost lived long enough to see us enter the new millennium. He was a mechanical engineer and had a wonderful love of history and science. He entrusted to me nearly 400 pages that he wrote through the years. He wrote in Spanish and I have spent six months translating these pages into English. Now I am in the process of editing, rewriting, and revising them. I am trying to post a new entry or chapter each Friday. Check in on us at least once a week for the latest post.
This entry was posted in Family History, UFO, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

