The Old Place by J. Edward Najera

 

carlos-najera-1927

That picture was from my father’s high school yearbook. He was a senior in 1927. He had two names Carlos L. Nájera and Charles Olivas. Both names were legal and he was proud of both of them. After his father died, his mother married John Olivas. He adopted my dad legally and gave him his last name.

Olivas family

Here’s my father, standing next to my grandmother Maria Concepción. His sister Natalia is next, then his brother Robert. That’s John on the right, and my two uncles Frank and Henry Olivas. Frank and Henry have their own story, if the Good Lord gives me time enough to tell it.

John Olivas is a descendant of Don Raimundo Olivas whose home became  California Historical Landmark No. 115.dscn1762

Here I am sitting near the front gate. As you can tell, I don’t like to pose for pictures.

dscn1804

This plaque briefly tells the story Don Raimundo’s place. If you are ever traveling through Ventura County on Highway 101 take the Telegraph Road exit and follow the signs. It is between the cities of Ventura and Oxnard.

dscn1764

Here is a view of the old house. At the time it was built there were not too many two story adobe houses in California. This is one of them.

dscn1760

This plaque is near the entry Adobe grounds.

I wrote about this house earlier in a post: A Kevin Bacon Moment by Joseph E Najera

https://jedwardnajera.wordpress.com/2013/02/01/a-kevin-bacon-moment-by-joseph-e-najera/

dscn1766

According to my father, somewhere in the kitchen wall is a hidden well for emergency water in case they were ever under attack.

dscn1788

This is not the way I remember the kitchen. It was a lot more primitive. There was a fogata, a fireplace where the cooking was done. I am remembering when I saw this in 1965 when I was a teenager.

dscn1773

The rooms have been restored with period furniture.

dscn1774

This old photo was inside one of the rooms. They must have been John’s people. I don’t know if they have been identified.

dscn1786

At that time that we were there, last June, 2016, there were several groups of students on a field trip. Milady and I followed a group. The docent gave a very good talk as he led us the house.

dscn1784

The back yard gate faces south toward the city of Oxnard where both my mother and father grew up in the early 1900’s.

dscn1769

According to my dad, that building at the corner was the original building. Don Raimundo lived there while building the main house.

dscn1803

 

The caretaker was living there when my father took me there. His name was Roy and my dad went to Oxnard High with him. He gave us a private tour of the house. It was a mess inside, trash and broken furniture. Roy’s job was to take care of the grounds and protect the house from vandals.

The house has a website: http://www.cityofventura.net/olivasadobe

They have events throughout the year including performances and weddings, and keeping the traditions alive.

 

 

About jedwardnajera

I am a Poet. I live the life of a poet. I am an artist, a member of Gallery 9 in Los Altos, California. I published a novel Nena the Fairy and the Iron Rose, available through Amazon Books. I spent over thirty five years in a classroom. My father kept a living record of his lifetime as he lived through the Twentieth Century. He was born in 1908 and almost lived long enough to see us enter the new millennium. He was a mechanical engineer and had a wonderful love of history and science. He entrusted to me nearly 400 pages that he wrote through the years. He wrote in Spanish and I have spent six months translating these pages into English. Now I am in the process of editing, rewriting, and revising them. I am trying to post a new entry or chapter each Friday. Check in on us at least once a week for the latest post.
This entry was posted in California History, Family History, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

