Sir Walter Raleigh in the Southern Sky

I stay up late and wake up early.

The evening settles across the sky.

It spreads out like a blanket,

As I sit here by my screen. 

I see the night fall, I see my father,

when I was small and

sheltered from the pain.

We were standing on our porch steps,

I was looking at his silhouette. 

What must be the thoughts he was thinking?

I couldn’t tell out there in the dark.

The desert crickets began their chirping.

They were some where I could not see.

The Milky Way never seemed brighter

As I stood there by his side. 

He lights his pipe

I can see it glowing.

It seems to help him think.

The heat of summer

 seems to linger

Though the sun has long since gone. 

The neighbors with their windows open.

I can hear their living sounds.

My brother sits inside reading.

The night time chores have all been done. 

Then my father starts to tell me

Where Orion rests tonight.

He moves across the southern skyways.

He fades away when the sun comes to rise.

Find him again tomorrow evening

and you’ll never be lost. 

What was in his head? What was he thinking?

As we shared that silent time.

Sir Walter Raleigh filled his pipe bowl

I can smell it even now.

 

Back inside he tucks me in,

my big brother deep in sleep.

He makes his way to his lonely bedroom

And says “Good night” to the empty side.

 IMG_0079 (3)

 

 

 

 

 

 

San Jose, CA

3/20/2016

 

 

About jedwardnajera

I am a Poet. I live the life of a poet. I am an artist, a member of Gallery 9 in Los Altos, California. I published a novel Nena the Fairy and the Iron Rose, available through Amazon Books. I spent over thirty five years in a classroom. My father kept a living record of his lifetime as he lived through the Twentieth Century. He was born in 1908 and almost lived long enough to see us enter the new millennium. He was a mechanical engineer and had a wonderful love of history and science. He entrusted to me nearly 400 pages that he wrote through the years. He wrote in Spanish and I have spent six months translating these pages into English. Now I am in the process of editing, rewriting, and revising them. I am trying to post a new entry or chapter each Friday. Check in on us at least once a week for the latest post.
This entry was posted in Family History, Poetic interlude, TB and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

