Janet by Carlos Najera

(Dear reader, Janet is my father’s grand-niece. Her family helped take care of him as he lived out his years in Mexicali. It sounds like she is turning 15,  a cause to celebrate.)

Janet

How excited you are!

You have arrived at the age.

You are a young lady now.

It’s a magical age,

Where everything is possible,

And everything is beautiful,

Where everything is joy and happiness,

And tears are unknown,

Where pain and worries,

And sadness cannot enter.

Go now.

Stay on your path

Because you have stepped into

The kingdom

Beyond time,

Beyond thought,

And imagination.

Keep on that path.

Stay on the trail.

Arm yourself with the

Spirit, and plant your feet on

The other side of the horizon.

 

May 27, 1989

 

About jedwardnajera

I am a Poet. I live the life of a poet. I am an artist, a member of Gallery 9 in Los Altos, California. I published a novel Nena the Fairy and the Iron Rose, available through Amazon Books. I spent over thirty five years in a classroom. My father kept a living record of his lifetime as he lived through the Twentieth Century. He was born in 1908 and almost lived long enough to see us enter the new millennium. He was a mechanical engineer and had a wonderful love of history and science. He entrusted to me nearly 400 pages that he wrote through the years. He wrote in Spanish and I have spent six months translating these pages into English. Now I am in the process of editing, rewriting, and revising them. I am trying to post a new entry or chapter each Friday. Check in on us at least once a week for the latest post.
This entry was posted in Family History, Poetic interlude and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

