That Good Night by Carlos L. Najera

IMG_0079 (3)

 In the last communication that I had with your mother she could not talk. Her battle with cancer was almost at an end.

I said to her, “I love you.”

Then I asked her, “Do you love me?”

She nodded “Yes!”

We travelled the years together.

We worked together.

We laughed together,

And cried together.

On her last day I asked her to take me with her

but she went ahead without me.

 

All of you children have behaved as we have anticipated.

For many years Christie and I prayed

that we might age gracefully

and that we may be blessed with the courage to meet

our final moment with dignity.

She played her part beautifully.

All of you children

have been like angels from heaven and

I thank you all.

May God’s blessings be upon you

Amen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About jedwardnajera

I am a Poet. I live the life of a poet. I am an artist, a member of Gallery 9 in Los Altos, California. I published a novel Nena the Fairy and the Iron Rose, available through Amazon Books. I spent over thirty five years in a classroom. My father kept a living record of his lifetime as he lived through the Twentieth Century. He was born in 1908 and almost lived long enough to see us enter the new millennium. He was a mechanical engineer and had a wonderful love of history and science. He entrusted to me nearly 400 pages that he wrote through the years. He wrote in Spanish and I have spent six months translating these pages into English. Now I am in the process of editing, rewriting, and revising them. I am trying to post a new entry or chapter each Friday. Check in on us at least once a week for the latest post.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Family History and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

