The House on C Street by Joseph Edward Najera

It is the same color. From the time my memory began, the old house looks the same. The library, Plaza, and the business district are just a few blocks to the right. The Santa Clara Church is a few blocks away on E Street.

My Mama’s older brother Faustino Ledesma lived there all his life. I do not know who owns the house now, but I am glad they took the liberty of not changing a thing. Whenever we dropped in on him he always had a huge pot of menudo waiting for us. It was the best and I never had its equal.

P1010244

Below is an old photo of my brother Carlos, AKA Carlitos, standing in front our uncle’s house. It was taken in the early 1940’s. There’s my mother with my sister Teresa, the smaller girl, Xotchl my oldest sister, and my brother Carlitos. Everybody called my brother “Boy”. He was a boy and that is what they called him. I am not in the picture because I was not born yet. I came along later, in 1947, a few years after this picture was taken.

IMG_0062 (5)                     mom Teresa Chris and boy at Faustino's house

P1010245

I do not have a good picture of my uncle or his family. Maybe they will help me out. I do have a picture of this man below. His name is Erle Stanly Gardner. He was a lawyer in Ventura County before he became famous. His greatest creation was Perry Mason, a series of novels and later the TV show that began its run in the 1950’s and is still on the air to this day.

erle_stanley_gardner

“I don’t get it uncle Joe, what does Perry Mason have to do with your uncle’s house?”

P1010246

It has been a family legend ever since I was small that my uncle’s house was the home of Erle Stanly Gardner when he was practicing law here. Oh dear! I am having another Kevin Bacon moment!

About jedwardnajera

I am a Poet. I live the life of a poet. I am an artist, a member of Gallery 9 in Los Altos, California. I published a novel Nena the Fairy and the Iron Rose, available through Amazon Books. I spent over thirty five years in a classroom. My father kept a living record of his lifetime as he lived through the Twentieth Century. He was born in 1908 and almost lived long enough to see us enter the new millennium. He was a mechanical engineer and had a wonderful love of history and science. He entrusted to me nearly 400 pages that he wrote through the years. He wrote in Spanish and I have spent six months translating these pages into English. Now I am in the process of editing, rewriting, and revising them. I am trying to post a new entry or chapter each Friday. Check in on us at least once a week for the latest post.
This entry was posted in Family History and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The House on C Street by Joseph Edward Najera

  1. gpcox says:

    Looking forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

