Wednesday Evening Thursday Morning by Joseph Najera

[I graduated from San Jose State 1971.  It took me a year and a half to be admitted into the Education Program there.  Thanks to my wonderful parents I used that time to read.   I would read up to 18 hours  a day.  I read everything I could get my hands on, philosophy, mysteries, history.  It did not matter what it was, I loved the smell of the printed page.  I would close my eyes and dream that I was reading.  I wrote these words during this time.  I thank you again Dear Parents.]

The night sounds,

a single engine aloft,

the glow from the street lamps

dances through the undulating leaves.

A small circle brightens my pages.

I am in the shadows of my bedroom

and reading about Madame Bovary.

A night sound, and

I awaken from my trance

and examine on the ledges

other leaves that are me. 

Henry Adams is there, still learning.

Bless me Ultima  is a tale I wish I had written.

El Cid with sword in hand leads his people

in waging righteous war.

Balzac’s candle waxes and wanes,

while Azuela is trapped in his memories.

Pío breathes in solitude.

The Leatherstocking crosses the plain

while California burns.

Friday lends a hand

as D’Artagnan sips champagne.

Homer holds a place of honor,

next to Hoyle.

D.H. continues his human quest,

as Mr. London walks through Wolf House, head bowed. 

The Third Reich haunts our collective guilt,

As the Admiral’s ships seek but never find.

Thornton Wilder will never grow old. 

Tonight, as the cold seeps through the window,

as the sound of trucks from the highway fade away,

as the patter of the raindrops land softly on my window

like the ticking of my clock,

and as the smell of night ladens my eyelids,

I’ll awaken from my comfort and feel the winter disappear.

And I’ll curse myself for resting so peacefully

in the warmth of my words.

Well,

good night Madame Bovary,                                      

I am looking for a home as well,

although mine is elsewhere,

yours is next to Dr. No.

About jedwardnajera

I am a Poet. I live the life of a poet. I am an artist, a member of Gallery 9 in Los Altos, California. I published a novel Nena the Fairy and the Iron Rose, available through Amazon Books. I spent over thirty five years in a classroom. My father kept a living record of his lifetime as he lived through the Twentieth Century. He was born in 1908 and almost lived long enough to see us enter the new millennium. He was a mechanical engineer and had a wonderful love of history and science. He entrusted to me nearly 400 pages that he wrote through the years. He wrote in Spanish and I have spent six months translating these pages into English. Now I am in the process of editing, rewriting, and revising them. I am trying to post a new entry or chapter each Friday. Check in on us at least once a week for the latest post.
This entry was posted in Family History, Poetic interlude and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

