The Iron Rose

The Iron Rose

By

Joseph Nájera

My interest in wrought iron  began with my father. He was an engineer, a machine designer, and a master iron  worker. My father created the “Iron Rose” and he passed the secret of making it  to me.

I still use the iron rose in  my designs, but lately I seem to have transformed my creations into using  simpler, more basic shapes and lines. I find inspiration in natural curves and
in the texture of the steel itself.

I use 13th Century  technology, that is, my hands, a hammer, an anvil, and rivets. Each piece is  shaped and fitted one at a time. Some of my more complex candle holders have
taken over a year to complete.

My creations have found  homes mainly in the Santa Clara Valley, in San Francisco,  in Martha’s Vineyard, and also in Scotland.

For more information contact me at: jedwardnajera@hotmail.com   or,
408-893-4893

This is where my creations are exhibited in downtown Los Altos, CA

A view of the  gallery looking toward the front door.  Gallery 9 is a  co-op made of about thirty members. There is always something new each month.

 

Here is my body  of work on display. The display area is crowded right now, I need to make a  new display box.

 

Now we are in  the front looking toward the back door. Come visit us  some time.

Prototype  Bird Cage on an  oaken base featuring  Mexican clay birds.

Candle  Holder, my first  design from 1964.

Ornament  holder #1 on an oak base,  for any season.

 Ornament holder #2

The  Tulip

A close view of The Iron rose, and old fashion rivets hammered in place

The Rose  Tree holds five candles on an oaken base

Ornament holder #3 on  base of Purple Heart Wood

The  Triple Tree

The  Bouquet

The Wine Vessel

Double  Tree

Deer  Horn

                                Rosé, the Iron Chalice

Four in one

Candle holder on purple heart wood

Trio

Sangría

Thank you for sharing some of your time with me.

About jedwardnajera

I am a Poet. I live the life of a poet. I am an artist, a member of Gallery 9 in Los Altos, California. I published a novel Nena the Fairy and the Iron Rose, available through Amazon Books. I spent over thirty five years in a classroom. My father kept a living record of his lifetime as he lived through the Twentieth Century. He was born in 1908 and almost lived long enough to see us enter the new millennium. He was a mechanical engineer and had a wonderful love of history and science. He entrusted to me nearly 400 pages that he wrote through the years. He wrote in Spanish and I have spent six months translating these pages into English. Now I am in the process of editing, rewriting, and revising them. I am trying to post a new entry or chapter each Friday. Check in on us at least once a week for the latest post.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

